HomeAbiaAbia Nawoj Celebrates Newly Elected President Aisha Bura And Team

Abia Nawoj Celebrates Newly Elected President Aisha Bura And Team

The Nigerian Association of Women Journalist (Nawoj) Abia State Chapter of the zone C led by comrade Josephine Ogwo has congratulated Aisha Ibrahim Bura,the newly elected president of the national body, who were elected on the 25th November 2023,during the 11th triennial delegates conference held in Abuja at Maryam Babangida Center for women Development.

The Abia state chapter stated its confident that Comrade Bura’s leadership will take Nawoj to a greater heights which will sustain the reputation of women journalist in Nigeria in upholding the ethics of the profession.The president emerged victorious with 498 votes against the incumbent president Ladi Bala who polled 381 votes.

Comrade Josephine Ogwo, Nawoj Chairperson who extend her heartiest and kind congratulations to all newly elected national excos, prays for a successful tenure.the Chapter while expressing satisfaction over the emergence of the national auditor Jamila Abubakar Chinwe and zone A Secretary, Lilian Ogabu Okonkwo, Deputy National President among others further urged them to maintain the confidence repose and bring development to the association.

Abia NAWOJ therefore appriciates all the state in zone C for their unflinching support that led to the victory and emergence of reputable and credible leaders.

The statement also tasks the newly elected National Executives on robust performance towards enhancing unity among members.assuring them of our cooperation as towards achieving a greater NAWOJ.

It could be recalled that The 11th Triennial Delegates conference of the Nigeria Association of Women Journalists, NAWOJ, ended in Abuja with the election of a new Executive to superintend over its affairs for the next three years.

After a keenly contested election, Aisha Bura clinched the position of the National President defeating the incumbent, Ladi Bala.The Chairman, NAWOJ 2023 electoral Committee, Mike Ikeogwu while declaring her winner, said that NAWOJians had spoken through the ballot.Other candidates who emerged successfully are Lilian Ogabu Okonkwo, Deputy National President, Waslia Ladan- National Secretary and Aisha Cole -Assistant Secretary.

Fatima Rasheed emerged National Treasurer, Jemila Chinwe Abubakar- National Auditor, Ifeoma Aka – Financial Secretary, Adeola Adekunle- Vice President Zone B, Amaka Agbo -Vice President,Zone C, Chizoba Ogbeche- Vice President , Zone D, and Stella Macauley- Vice President Zone F.

In her acceptance speech, Aisha Bura who henceforth asked to be addressed as National Chairperson pledged to protect the interest of the women journalists while carrying out reforms that will take NAWOJ to the next level.

The Electoral Process was monitored by some members of the National Executive of Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) including the National President Chris Isiguzo and other observer groups.

The National President of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, NUJ. Mr Chris Isiguzo charged the new leadership to embrace a new chapter characterised by collective strength to sustain and develop NAWOJ to meet the expectations for its establishment.

Again, The 11th Triennial conference was attended by NAWOJ delegates from the 36 States in Nigeria including the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.The Nigeria Association of Women Journalists, the umbrella body of women Journalists in Nigeria was formed in 1989 to address the issues of gender inclusion and the professional development of women.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments