Okonjo-Iweala, Others Honoured For Meritorious Community Service  Award- Nuelsnews

Okonjo-Iweala, Others Honoured For Meritorious Community Service Award- Nuelsnews

Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, the former Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of Economy was on Saturday honoured with a special award for meritorious community service.

Okonjo-Iweala and 23 others were conferred with chieftaincy titles and awards during the coronation ceremony of His Royal Highness, Eze Daniel Ukaegbu, the Ngwu IV of Isingwu, in Isingwu Autonomous Community, Umuahia North council area of Abia.

Isingwu Autonomous Community has five component villages namely : Umuda, Umuoriehi, Amafor, Umuokoro and Umungbokwo.
The former minister who was honoured by her husband’s autonmous community, was however absent as she was said to be outside the country.

In his speech, Eze Ukaegbu said that the community was blessed with many men and women who could make good things happen.
He said that his cabinet would be made up of men and women with proven integrity with flair to leave legacies for posterity.

In his goodwill message, Mr Kelechi Onuzuruike, member, representing Umuahia North in Abia House Assembly, congratulated the king as well as the recipients.

He reiterated the need to uphold the culture and tradition of every community “so that we can continue to grow together in peace and co-exist among one another.”

One of the chieftaincy recipients, Chief Hope Uwaga, who is a Commissioner in Abia State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (ASOPADEC) said the recognition had spurred him to do more for his community.

Another recpient, Chief Chris Onwuegbu, who is the Director of Protocols at Abia House of Assembly, thanked the community for the honour, saying that he would continue to contribute his quota towards the good of his people.

Onwuegbu, who was conferred with the title of “Dike Oha of Isingwu” urged all to always identify with their community, stressing that “Charity begins at home.”
Fourteen people were conferred with chieftaincy titles, while 10 were honoured with special awards .

Written by:

617 Posts

View All Posts
Follow Me :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *