Manchester City  2020/21 CARABAO CUP! Winners.

Manchester City  2020/21 CARABAO CUP! Winners.


Manchester City have become joint Carabao Cup record holders with victory over Tottenham in front of almost 8,000 fans at Wembley Stadium.

Pep Guardiola’s men join Liverpool on eight League Cup wins and have also equalled the Redsโ€™ record for most consecutive victories with four on the bounce.

City dominated the match throughout but had to wait until the 82nd minute to take the lead, when Aymeric Laporte headed in Kevin De Bruyneโ€™s free-kick.

There was an element of controversy over the winning goal though, as many felt Laporte should have received two yellow cards in the first half.

Pep joins legendary trio in the record books

We’ve already mentioned how Sergio Aguero and Fernandinho have made the record books with today’s Carabao Cup victory.

And City boss Pep Guardiola has joined them by following legendary trio Brian Clough, Sir Alex Ferguson and Jose Mourinho in winning four Carabao Cups.

You wouldn’t bet against Guardiola surpassing those iconic managers in the coming years.

Written by:

1,105 Posts

View All Posts
Follow Me :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *